Bail Enforcement Agent and legal Requirements for Becoming

Bail Enforcement Agent” means any person or co-operative of persons, whether residents or non-residents, whose services or actions are performed in the capture of a fugitive and, but not limited to, anyone engaged in the arrest and return of persons released on bail that have not appeared before any s before a court before any s in any stage of the proceedings to reply to that charge

Bondsmen NOT Bail (Please contact the Department of Insurance for licensure)

The Examiner Board of the regulatory agency Bail Enforcement Agents meets quarterly.

Requirements

Must be 21 years of age

No felony must be convicted of 3.

No criminal offence involving moral turpitude, charges, or behaviour that could damage the performance of the bail-out agent and threaten public safety as set out in the Professional Licensing Section shall be convicted of.

No misdemeanour involving theft shall have been convicted in the last 7 years.

No crime of drug offences in the last seven years has to be convicted.

As a young person, he or she was not convicted of conduct which would be a criminal act, if committed by an adult, unless and until his or her 25th birthday was reached.

No 2 of the following misdemeanours should have been convicted in the last seven years: attack or attack III.

No crime involving the impersonation of a police officer or trust person as defined in Title 11 shall be convicted of.

No crime involving organised gang activity as defined in Title 11 should be convicted.

If served in the military, the dishonourable discharge must not have been received.

Does not belong to any law enforcement organisation or employee of any other State or federal jurisdiction as defined by the Police Training Council or a member or employee of the law enforcement organisation.

The qualifications established by and approved by the Board in conformity with this chapter and regulations as adopted by the Board, as approved by the Secretary of Homeland Safety and Security, shall be complied with and maintained.

How does the ARMED Bail Enforcement Agent licenced in Delaware comply with law?

Requirements Minimum 1. Upon request, be at least 21 years old.

No conviction or other discharge – use the following link – Section 6.0 / Criminal Offenses. No conviction for any crimes.

Completed with an authorised instructor at 40-hour firearms course.

Complete the sheets and provide a low light shoot for one day.

Before training or application – see link below – Armed Bail Enforcement Agents must review all other firearms rules.

A Bail Enforcement License obtaining an Armed Bail (Red Card) allows the Officer only to open a firearm. This is not a CCDW authorisation. This is not a CCDW authorization.

Delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/5500.shtml Code – Title24 – 55 Chapter – Bail Enforcement Agents – Rules & Regulations https://Regulations.delaware.gov.
The process to become a Delaware bail enforcement agency is by http://delcode.delaware.gov/title24/c055/index.html?

What is the process to become a Bail Enforcement Agent in Delaware?

  1. The Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC) offers the required Initial Classroom Training. See the link below.
    Visit http://registration.xenegrade.com/dtccstan-wilm/search.cfm?noneFound=1
  2. An application and fingerprinting are required for the “Bail Enforcement Agent” background check. In the event of an appointment day, the individual will be required to complete fingerprinting and photo processing at one of two (2) locations for the State Bureau of Identification (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover). Here is a list of addresses.

Bureau of Identification – Walk-ins Welcome
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Please call (302) 739-2528 for appointments.
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

  1. State Bureau of Identification fingerprints and photographs individuals upon their arrival. Four (4) specific items should be brought to an appointment:

Identify yourself with a picture (Driver’s license, state identification card, or passport)
(State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified checks, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, company checks, and money orders for the $65.00 fee. Checks and American Express are not accepted by SBI.
Delaware Technical Community College (DTCC) Initial Classroom Training Certificate in Bail Enforcement
An application for new or renewed employment must be completed
Open this document with ReadSpeaker docReader

  1. The background check will begin after Delaware State Police Professional Licensing has taken and reviewed fingerprints. A phone call/email will be sent to the applicant if the application is approved. A number will be made available to the individual once he or she contacts us. In addition to the badge and ID card, there is a license for four (4) years for $75.00. Payment can be made at the Dover office in person and the license will be issued at that moment or over the phone by calling professional licensing at 302-739-5991.

What are the requirements for becoming a bail enforcement agent in Delaware?

  1. An approved firearms instructor must be able to teach a 40-hour course. You can access approved Professional License instructors via the link below. Once you have completed the course, a shoot sheet will be issued to successful applicants. You can email or drop off the shoot sheet at DSP_SBIDetectiveLicensingMail@Delaware.Gov or drop it off at the Dover office.

In Delaware, I wish to become an Armed Bail Enforcement Agent. How can I find an approved instructor who will conduct mandatory training for this job?

An approved instructor must conduct a 40-hour Firearms Course for applicants. Our Approved Instructors can be accessed via the links below.

Instructors approved by the department
Open this document with ReadSpeaker docReader

How much does a Bail Enforcement License cost?

Initial classroom training at Delaware Technical and Community College (DTCC) – $129
Criminal Background Check – $65.00
$75.00 for a 4-year license, badge, and ID for Bail Enforcement
Licensing for Bail Enforcement – $50.00 per 4-year period
Continuing Education Course at Delaware Technical & Community College (DTCC) – $129
Cash, certified checks, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, company checks, or money orders are all accepted at the State Bureau of Identification (SBI). Checks and American Express are not accepted by SBI.

What should you do if your Bail Enforcement Agent ID Card (armed or unarmed) has been lost or stolen?

You may request a replacement at either of the two (2) locations of the State Bureau of Identification (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover State Bureau of Identification). There is no need for an appointment. License holders can apply for a replacement by filling out the application (see the link below) or by completing one on site. Licenses cannot be replaced unless they are valid. It costs $10.00 to replace a lost card. A license identification card will be printed on site, and it will be presented to the requestor at the time.

Lost/Stolen/Name Change ApplicationOpen this document with ReadSpeaker docReader

What are the steps to replace a lost or stolen Bail Enforcement Agent Badge?

The professional licensing department at 302-739-5991 can assist you in getting a replacement badge.

Renewal of Bail Enforcement Agents

  1. For a “Bail Enforcement Agent Renewal” background check, individuals must submit a new application to the State Bureau of Identification (302)-739-2528. A fingerprinting and photographic appointment will be done at one of two (2) locations (DSP Troop 2/Newark or Dover) on the day of the appointment. Here is a list of addresses.

State Bureau of Identification – Walk-In Availability
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Please call (302)-739-2528 to schedule an appointment with Delaware State Police Troop 2.
Stephen J. Ballard Way, 100 Cpl/1
Delaware 19702 Newark
Located at the front of the building (to the left)

  1. A state identification official will conduct fingerprinting and a photographic inspection at the time of the appointment. Those attending an appointment should bring the following four (4) items:

Identify yourself with a picture (Driver’s license, state identification card, or passport)
A $50.00 fee is required (State Bureau of Identification (SBI) accepts cash, certified checks, Visa, Master Card, Discover, company checks, or money orders. Checks and American Express are not accepted by SBI.
Certificate of Continuing Education in Bail Enforcement (most recent)
An application for new or renewed employment must be completed
Open this document with ReadSpeaker docReader

  1. If approved, DSP Professional Licensing will run the applicant’s background, and the renewed license and ID will be mailed out to the applicant’s home address, unless the applicant requests to pick it up at the Dover office. $50.00 is the fee for renewing an ID card or license for four (4) years.

Bail Enforcement Agents are required to take continuing education courses

Delaware Technical Community College is required to provide continuing education courses to all licensed bail enforcement agents every year (except in the year of their initial license).

On odd years, you will complete an online test, while on even years, you will attend eight hours of classroom training.

You will lose your BEA license immediately if you do not complete the continuing education training.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: